You are here

Bank account matters

Barelycoping's picture

Hi everyone.  Thank goodness for this site because I thought no one else was in the same boat am in.  I have a lot going on but first I really need advise on some recent happenings.  A short back story is,  I have been married for four years.  DH has two children from a previous marriage they are autistic teens (story for another post). Anyway I got married and moved to Australia two years ago to start life from scratch.  Dh has supported me/us since we married.  I couldn't find a job so I studied finished my certificate (before covid hit) and the start of 2020 I was looking forward to getting some work so I opened a bank account in my name.  Dh did add me to his bank account it was a visa requirement.  The thing is I have never really felt comfortable that his money was our money.  Whenever I used bank cards he would monitor closely my spending and where I spent it (not that am a spender).  Anyone would monitor off course but I felt his was obvious so I found myself explaining expenses as if I broke the bank and it was just 50$. He would still does question every purchase subtly so all I look at are things on special and if supposing I am about to spend 70-100$ I would first call let him know so he is OK with it, so that if he is monitoring he doesn't get on my case in short I have never felt free to spend "our money". Also during money arguments it becomes his money.  Anyway covid hit no job prospects so I proceeded to do my diploma(zoom classes) I finished then got my diploma fast forward I recently got a casual job and the first pay hit my account last week.  Obviously I felt elated happy like I achieved something.  My plan was contribute to Dh and I shared account to cover some bills and keep some money in my account start some savings have a little something for me coz its important to me.  I also have this gut feeling I need my own account as he is some type of way with finances since we moved in tog