You are here

Back to school question- how do you present your family?

Last-Wife's picture

When you meet your child's teacher or skids' teacher, how do YOU present your family?

As a teacher, I'm amazed by how many parents come in at Open House and want to pull me aside and explain their situation, and bash the other parent!

Now, I keep my personal life seperate from my school life, so I never discuss with students' parents that I am a step mother. It's not their business. But sometimes I just want to ask them, "What are you thinking?"

And a pat on the back to us- I am always amazed at how many step moms and step dads that come in and really support their skids. As a professional, I can see that does make a difference to the skid and their attitude, behavior and success.

Personally, loghead and I always tried to meet with the my skids' teachers several days before school started, just to give the school the custody agreement and pertinant information. When the skids were little, Loca Grande would always visit and swoop in making a big deal about "mommy's here." I have PITA on the first day of 1st grade on video, rolling his eyes at his mother's dramatics... She can be very convincing. She would sign up for every committee and promise to volunteer. She lived 2 hours away. She'd drive up once a week- until about the end of September, and then the teachers never saw her again!

We did all work hard to present a united front when it came to school. From the time the oldest was in first grade, till the youngest finished 5th grade, Loghead, Loca Grande and I all attended Parent Conferences TOGETHER.

Rags's picture

"Hello my name is "AXY", this is my wife "BXX" and our son "C(Last Name)"".

That is it. We don't explain anything. The differing last names between our son and his mom should be the only information that a teacher or school administrator need on this topic.