You are here

Any posters here a stepkid themselves?

Doublehelix's picture

While I've known my SO for about 4 years and his 7yo daughter has been living with us 50% for about 2 years now, I'm still fairly new to this step game as I only have 2 personal experiences to draw from. My own mother is actually a stepmother - I have considerably older half-sisters. One of my sisters has her own son and is also a stepmom herself. As far as I can tell, all the kids get along great. I love my half-sisters and they love me. My nephew loves his half and step-siblings and they love him.

I know my super traditional mother loathed being a stepmom (and there was never a biomom to deal with), and she is lamenting that I'm following that path myself. (No easy path of course, I'd have to agree...lol) My sisters call my mom "auntie," and don't think of her as their mother, but dad's wife and their little sister's mom, and everyone is polite and cordial as necessary. My nephew also calls his step-parents "Auntie" and "Uncle," which implies to me that they always kept a respectful distinction between birth and stepparents.

I guess what I'm curious about, is the stepkid perspective. For anyone who is a stepkid themselves, how did you view your stepparents? Did you feel like you had two sets of parents or did you only define your bioparents as parents? Did you feel included in their new families? Did you care? This can also be answered by anyone with stepkids and knows what they're thinking. At this age, I don't think I expect my SD to think of me as anything more than dad's SO, a person with fun belongings and interests (that she always wants a piece of), and someone she needs to listen to and respect. I'd like to know for anyone further down the line, how those relationships played out...and more importantly, how the stepkids felt about that. 

Thisisnotus's picture