You are here

Am I alone?

dovahkin0816's picture

I'm new here and I am still learning about the site. I can definitely understand why some people here dont get along with their step kids.

But am I alone in the fact that I adore mine? I mean with all my heart and soul I adore my SD4. I guess it's a bit different because I have always been "mommy", she views BM as more of a step parent because she was absent for 2 years. She call me "mommy" and her "mommy blank". But my step son is a whole other situation. He has his mom and I am the clear cut step parent. And I couldn't imagine not loving him.

My true problems are with both BM's. There are infuriating.

Guess I'm just wanting to hear that there are step parents here who love the kids but want the BM's to disappear somewhere.

Disneyfan's picture

I have a great relationship with my SKs. The youngest will slip and call me mommy from time to time. I correct her right away. I'm not their mother and I have no desire to pretend that I am. I aready raised my son,(he graduates from college this May Dirol ) no need to have a do over with someone else's kids.

I hate one BM but I do not want her to disappear. No matter how I feel about her, her kids love and that is all that matters. I want her to be the best mom she can be and stay out of my hair.

B22S22's picture

I started out a long time ago wanting to have a great relationship with my SK's, but it just wasn't in the stars. They were angry their father started dating (he had *only* been divorced for 7 years), and even angrier that it was someone who had kids. They told my DH on more than one occasion that although they didn't live with him, they didn't want him living with us. They wanted him to be alone. But the BM was remarried but I guess that was OK with them.

Many years later, it still isn't working. Once in a while one of them will warm up a little to me, but the other one is staunchly against me.