You are here

Advice for a new SM with tough BM?

Lucyforshort's picture

I could use some advice,
I am new to the SM thing, my DH has 3 amazing kids that I get along with very well. Lately, the BM says they won't be spending any additional time with us because it's "for their own good". I don't know what that means! I think she is angry because I am able to contribute to their lives in a positive way- I am a nice and friendly person (unlike her- according to her own circle), well-educated with a very comfortable salary, positive relationships with friends and with DH (again, all things that she has been unable to achieve). So I feel like she is acting jealous and spiteful, but I am now worried that she is going to start turning these kids against me, that is actually what she told DH she was going to do. But why? What do I do? I have had conversations with her previously and am adamant that I am not trying to replace her or take anything away from her relationship with her kids. I am just a good person and I believe kids should be surrounded by positive energy. She has told DH that if the kids try to hug me that I need to push them away! Unbelievable, right? She said she is trying to protect them from me, but I don't know why she feels they need it! Now I am accused of trying to "buy their love" because I bought them a winter jacket! Anyway, I have been very good at staying out of his issues with her, but when do I get to speak up and defend myself? I don't want to make things more difficult for him by getting involved, but she is using her insecurity with me to keep the kids away from him. By the way, she loves to argue for the sake of arguing, so I also feel any effort I make with be for nothing, but do I try?

Lucyforshort's picture

Thank you, I appreciate that. Sounds like you really do know what I am going through, even down to the offer for coffee. Thanks for the helpful words, it is nice to hear an outside view.

sixteensmom's picture