luckymomme's picture

O/T Why does my yogurt say it contains fish?!

Okay, I've been dieting and doing really good. Today I was eating a Muller's Fruit Up Yogurt made my Quaker. I was bored so I read the back label. In a separate rectangle box under all the other ingredients it says: "Contains: Milk, Tilapia(Fish)". Seriously it had "fish" in parenthesis. WHY in the world would my Peach Passion fruit yogurt have FISH?!

I reread the ingredients and couldn't find anything that sounded like a derivative of fish. I'm stumped, and sort of grossed out.

Any ideas?

luckymomme's picture

Okay, a quick Google search

Okay, a quick Google search turned this up.

http://www.mommyish.com/2013/11/05/muller-yogurt-tilapia/

Apparently I'm not the only one grossed out.

And some people on this blog are really not happy about it. Hey, if you don't like it, just don't eat it.

http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/863944

Step.tococis's picture

I read food labels

I read food labels religiously! The crap in food is scary.

Tilapia is actually a nice fish - when I did eat meat - but my god, it doesn't belong in yoghart!
Stick too vegetarian yoghart with non-animal gelatine.

Omg!! I am still grossed out by this- fish in yoghart. Urgh!

Some people cause joy wherever they go, others whenever they go. Smiling

outtahere's picture

I don't buy Muller yoghurts

I don't buy Muller yoghurts as they are expensive here and I consider them junk food with all the additives. I suppose you could say that its jus the same as gelatine in Jello. If you are a vegetarian then obviously you would want to avoid that.

I find it funny though that sometimes people say they are vegetarian but they eat fish Puzzled whats that all about?

A mother is not a person to lean on but a person to make leaning unnecessary.

--Dorothy C. Fisher

Re: PAS - 'Youth is easily deceived because it is quick to hope' (Aristotle)

Step.tococis's picture

Vegetarians don't eat fish or

Vegetarians don't eat fish or meat. Ovo-lacto vegetarians eat fruit vegetables, plus things like egg and milk products, honey. No flesh though.

"vegetarians who eat fish" aren't vegetarians - they are pescetarians. Veg+ fish products.

Some people cause joy wherever they go, others whenever they go. Smiling

outtahere's picture

Thanks for clarifying that

Thanks for clarifying that Smiling

They should say 'I am a Pescetarian' - that would have some people scratching their heads i'm sure.

A mother is not a person to lean on but a person to make leaning unnecessary.

--Dorothy C. Fisher

Re: PAS - 'Youth is easily deceived because it is quick to hope' (Aristotle)

Step.tococis's picture

Wait till they ask: You

Wait till they ask: You PISSED where?

Some people cause joy wherever they go, others whenever they go. Smiling

Máirín's picture

I don't like fish, but it is

I don't like fish, but it is good for you. Then I don't like yogurt either! I am screwed on fish and algae and fungus and all those good for you things.

~~~ Red red wine ~~~

stormabruin's picture

While I do pay attention to

While I do pay attention to the nutrition values on food labels, I can't bring myself to read the ingredients.

I learned my lesson when I was reading them on some kind of beef stick I'd eaten. One of the first ingredients was "beef lips".

Yes, I was well aware I was eating beef, but the idea of eating "lips" of any kind...I can't stomach that.

"Women are angels & when someone breaks our wings we simply continue to fly...on a broomstick. We are flexible like that."

Máirín's picture

No. NONONONONONO! Every now

No. NONONONONONO!

Every now and then, mostly for get togethers, I will buy the Boar's Head hard salami or beef or whatever it is to go with cheese...

Now I will have to read it. Thanks a ton. No really.

~~~ Red red wine ~~~

JustAgirl42's picture

Oh I hope the Boars Head

Oh I hope the Boars Head cheese doesn't have anything funky in it cause that stuff is the shit!

Máirín's picture

oooh yeah - the three pepper

oooh yeah - the three pepper something jack? LOVE IT.

~~~ Red red wine ~~~

JustAgirl42's picture

Oooo, I'll have to try that!

Oooo, I'll have to try that!

stormabruin's picture

Well, if it does have lips in

Well, if it does have lips in it, you can still serve it. Just don't eat it yourself. LOL!

"Women are angels & when someone breaks our wings we simply continue to fly...on a broomstick. We are flexible like that."

kathc's picture

I once bought a big box of

I once bought a big box of frozen hamburger patties for a party. Very proud of myself that I got such an amazing deal on them! I read the ingredients. Beef hearts. Yep, they were made of ground hearts. No wonder they were so cheap! At that point what could I do? I put them on the grill and served them but I didn't eat one! Cool

zerostepdrama's picture

Good to know because I HATE

Good to know because I HATE fish and I eat and try a lot of different yogurts.

Treat the Queen of the Castle like shit...you will get banished from the Kingdom.....

JustAgirl42's picture

I was eating a Subway sub

I was eating a Subway sub last night and my SD10 says to me, "Did you know that their buns have rags in them?". Lol, it wouldn't surprise me!